

# **Town of Surfside**

## SUSTAINABILITY & RESILIENCY COMMITTEE MEETING

## AGENDA

January 15, 2020 – 6:30 p.m. Chief Terrill Williamson Police Training Room 9293 Harding Ave, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Surfside, FL 33154

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call
- 2. Approval of Meeting Minutes: December 17, 2019
- 3. Monthly Update from the Resiliency Officer.
- 4. Review and Discussion of Climate Crisis Report/Climate Action Plan.
- 5. Public Comments (3-minute time limit per speaker)
- 6. Adjournment

THIS MEETING IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC. IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT OF 1990, ALL PERSONS THAT ARE DISABLED; WHO NEED SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS MEETING BECAUSE OF THAT DISABILITY SHOULD CONTACT THE OFFICE OF THE TOWN CLERK AT 305-861-4863 EXT. 226 NO LATER THAN FOUR DAYS PRIOR TO SUCH PROCEEDING.

AGENDA ITEMS MAY BE VIEWED AT THE OFFICE OF THE TOWN CLERK, TOWN OF SURFSIDE TOWN HALL, 9293 HARDING AVENUE. ANYONE WISHING TO OBTAIN A COPY OF ANY AGENDA ITEM SHOULD CONTACT THE TOWN CLERK AT 305-861-4863. A COMPLETE AGENDA PACKET IS ALSO AVAILABLE ON THE TOWN WEBSITE AT <u>www.townofsurfsidefl.gov</u>.

TWO OR MORE MEMBERS OF TOWN COMMISSION OR OTHER TOWN BOARDS MAY ATTEND AND PARTICIPATE AT THIS MEETING.

THESE MEETINGS MAY BE CONDUCTED BY MEANS OF OR IN CONJUNCTION WITH COMMUNICATIONS MEDIA TECHNOLOGY, SPECIFICALLY, A TELEPHONE CONFERENCE CALL. THE LOCATION 9293 HARDING AVENUE, SURFSIDE, FL 33154, WHICH IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC, SHALL SERVE AS AN ACCESS POINT FOR SUCH COMMUNICATION.



# **Town of Surfside**

## SUSTAINABILITY & RESILIENCY COMMITTEE MEETING

## MINUTES

#### December 17, 2019 – 6:30 p.m.

Chief Terrill Williamson Police Training Room 9293 Harding Ave, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor, Surfside, FL 33154

#### 1. Call to Order/Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 6:35 p.m.

The following were present:	Chair Andrea Travani Committee Member Deborah Cimadevilla Committee Member Bertha Goldenberg Vice Chair Clara Diaz-Leal (arrived at 6:40 p.m.)
Absent:	Committee Member Nirit Tayas Zamir Mayor Daniel Dietch, Town Commission Liaison
Also, present:	Kate Stein, Sustainability & Resiliency Officer Lillian Arango, Town Attorney Frantza Duval, Recording Clerk

#### 2. Approval of Meeting Minutes: October 16, 2019

Committee Member Goldenberg made a motion to approve the October 16, 2019 minutes. The motion received a second from Committee Member Cimadevilla and all voted in favor.

#### 3. Monthly Update from the Resiliency Officer

Sustainability & Resiliency Officer Stein provided the following updates:

- The Town Commission voted to declare a climate emergency and to authorize the Town's Climate Crisis Report and Action Plan
- Surfside's partnership with the LU\_Lab at the University of Miami School of Architecture is moving from a focus on mobility issues alone to resilience and climate more broadly.

- Town staff have continued to answer questions from the American Flood Coalition and Atkins as they finish up the digital model of Surfside and begin to run adaptation scenarios.
- Resiliency Officer Stein Stein and Assistant Town Manager Tavares attended the Southeast Florida Regional Climate Leadership Summit. State Chief Resilience Officer Julia Nesheiwat is very interested in the work being done in Surfside and expressed a desire to visit sometime this year.

#### 4. Review and Discussion of Climate Crisis Report/Climate Action Plan.

Resiliency Officer Stein introduced the item and explained the next steps: The S&R Committee needs to finish prioritizing actions in time for the April 2020 commission meeting. In February and March, Town staff from the budget/finance and executive offices will speak with other Town departments to identify their top priority items and potential timelines, including budgeting.

Chair Andrea Travani led the prioritization discussion for the first several sections of the action plan.

#### 5. Public Comments (3-minute time limit per speaker)

No public comments.

#### 6. Adjournment

A motion was made by Committee Member Cimadevilla to adjourn the meeting at 8:26 p.m. Vice Chair Diaz-Leal seconded the motion and all voted in favor.

Respectfully submitted:

Accepted this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 2020.

Andrea Travani, Chair

Attest:

Evelyn Herbello Deputy Town Clerk